Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Livingston new KMCA president; several other officers installed

By Susan Riddell, Editor
KMCA has faithfully served Kentucky fiscal courts since 1952.
KMCA President David Livingston

KMCA President David Livingston

Scott County Magistrate David Livingston said he never dreamed of serving as an elected official, even when he was in early adulthood.

“As I grew older, had children and looked around, I wanted my community to continue improving and ran for Scott County magistrate,” he said. “It’s the same for being elected President of the Kentucky Magistrates and Commissioners Association (KMCA). I want to help KMCA to continue improving for its members.”

Livingston, who is in his third term as a magistrate, was sworn in recently as president of KMCA by Kentucky Department of Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles. In addition to serving as KMCA president this year, Livingston also is KACo 2nd vice president.

Livingston takes over for Hart County Magistrate Gary Gardner, who served as KMCA president but now moves into the immediate past president role.

“The services provided by our KMCA leaders, JC Young and Lauren Germond, go beyond training and legislative priorities,” Livingston said. “It leads to deep friendships with magistrates and commissioners across the commonwealth. These friendships allow us to compare our fiscal court decisions and learn of even greater ways to help our constituents and our entire communities.

“I am humbled and honored to assume the role of president of Kentucky Magistrates and Commissioners Association,” he added. “I will continue working hard for my constituents, Scott County and all my fellow elected officials across the Commonwealth of Kentucky.”

2021 KMCA officers

President – David Livingston (Scott County)
First Vice President – Roger Deckard (Monroe)
Second Vice President – Lonnie Pruitt (Lincoln)
Secretary – Tony Stewart (LaRue)
Treasurer – Michael Logsdon (Oldham)
Sergeant-at-Arms – Rich Liebe (Christian)
Immediate Past President – Gary Gardner (Hart)

Board members
Mark Bates (Carroll)
Tony Felker (Webster)
Stevie Givens (Butler)
Betty Holtzclaw (Garrard)
Ray Moore (Breathitt)
Gary Morgan (Jessamine)

Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601