Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Jail Task Force meeting dates announced

The task force announced three dates in June, July and August

The Jail and Corrections Task Force will meet on the following days:

  • June 12, 11 a.m. EDT
  • July 24, 9:30 a.m. EDT
  • August 28, 10 a.m. EDT
  • Sept. 26, 9:30 a.m. EDT
  • Oct. 23, 11 a.m. EDT
  • Nov. 8, 10 a.m. EDT

Watch the task force meetings live here: 

The task force was created to study existing jail and correctional facilities; possible realignment and closure of jail and correctional facilities; management of Kentucky's incarcerated population; personnel and other costs associated with jail and correctional facilities; pretrial and post-conviction incarceration data from the Administrative Office of the Courts, the Department of Corrections, and jails; pretrial defendants, including a breakdown by jurisdiction of the financial conditions of release and charged offenses for those defendants; and the number of supervised individuals incarcerated on new charges versus those incarcerated due to revocation.

Task force  members

  • Sen. John Schickel, Co-Chair (R - Boone County)
  • Rep. Josh Bray, Co-Chair (R - Laurel, Madison, Pulaski, Rockcastle counties)
  • Sen. Brandon J. Storm (R - Casey, Laurel, Lincoln, Rockcastle counties)
  • Sen. Robin L. Webb (D -  Boyd, Carter, Greenup, Lewis counties)
  • Sen. Whitney Westerfield (R -  Caldwell, Christian, Muhlenberg counties)
  • Sen. Phillip Wheeler (R -  Elliott, Johnson, Lawrence, Martin, Pike counties)
  • Rep. David Hale (R - Bath, Menifee, Montgomery counties)
  • Rep. Keturah Herron (D - Jefferson County)
  • Rep. Jason Petrie (R - Christian, Logan, Todd counties)
  • Rep. Wade Williams (R - Hopkins County)


Read more about interim legislative task forces here:



More County News