Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Federal disaster declared following April storms

Damage was reported in 11 counties from tornadoes and straight-line winds
Residents and property owners in 11 Kentucky counties may be eligible for federal assistance to recover from damage caused by severe storms in early April. 

Gov. Andy Beshear announced Wednesday that President Joe Biden has approved a federal disaster declaration for tornadoes and straight-line winds that blew across the state on April 2-3. The declaration makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union and Whitley counties.

"We are thankful to President Biden and his administration for approving this funding, which will be a big help for our families and communities recovering from these devastating tornadoes and storms," Gov. Beshear said in a news release. "We continue to thank our first responders and those continuing cleanup efforts for their unwavering support."

According to the National Weather Service, 16 confirmed tornadoes touched down in Kentucky on April 2, producing wind speeds of up to 120 miles per hour. 

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance at, by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or by using the FEMA App.

More County News