Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties

Counties earn eligibility for federal aid after severe storms, floods

From the Governor's Office
Transportation funds, sales tax relief for property owners in affected counties also announced Thursday.

Floyd, Magoffin and Breathitt counties were all affected by severe storms, flooding and mudslides Feb. 27 - March 14. Today, Gov. Andy Beshear visited those counties to encourage individuals and business owners to apply for federal recovery aid.

Beshear also awarded transportation funding in all three counties and announced sales tax relief for property owners in nine counties impacted by severe weather.

Gov. Beshear was joined by his senior advisor, Rocky Adkins, Kentucky Emergency Management officials, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) representatives and local officials at each location.

“Thank you to our partners, both local and federal, for helping us rebound from these devastating storms and floods as we build the better Kentucky we want for all of our families,” Beshear said.

Following Gov. Beshear’s request, President Biden granted a Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky, April 23, which made aid available for residents of nine counties: Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Johnson, Lee, Magoffin, Martin and Powell. To learn more about how individuals and business owners can apply, see the full release.

Wednesday, Beshear requested that FEMA add 26 more counties to the declaration. FEMA will determine each additional county’s eligibility to participate over the next several weeks. To learn more, see the full release.

Residents with additional reports of flood damage should contact their local county emergency management agency.


Sales tax relief for property owners in federal disaster declaration counties
Beshear said as a result of the Major Disaster Declaration, Kentuckians in the included counties also may be eligible for state disaster relief in the form of sales tax refunds on purchases of building materials, up to $6,000 per building. The materials must be used to permanently repair or replace building structures.

To learn more about how to apply for a sales tax refund, visit the Department of Revenue’s website. Individuals in need of more personalized assistance may call 502-564-5170 and select Option 1 to speak to a staff member.


Floyd County School safety project near Prestonsburg Elementary
In Floyd County, Beshear awarded $200,000 for design and construction of an extended turn lane and an “R-cut” – Restricted Crossing U-Turn – on Kentucky Highway 114 at Prestonsburg Elementary School. An R-cut is an intersection design that eliminates the need for making a left turn against traffic. Instead, traffic flows a little farther down and then executes a legal U-turn.

Floyd County road resurfacing
Gov. Beshear also presented $361,000 in transportation funding to the Floyd County Fiscal Court for badly needed resurfacing on four county roads (CR 1617, Emma Road; CR 1018, Happy Hollow Road; CR 1945, Mud Lick Branch; and CR 1169, Henpen Branch Road). The projects will total about 3.5 miles in length, allowing easier and more efficient travel for many Floyd County residents. This funding is administered by the Department of Rural and Municipal Aid in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

Magoffin County road resurfacing
Magoffin County Fiscal Court received $761,257 in transportation funding for critical resurfacing on a dozen different sections of county roads. Altogether, the projects total 8.7 miles of new surfacing to make for easier and more efficient travel.

The projects will be along 12 sections of nine different county routes: County Road 1174 (Willow Drive, Front Street, Tommy Dyer Street and Charlie Prater Street); CR 1144 (Scranton Road); CR 1251 (West Puncheon Creek Road); CR 1110 (Big Lick Road); CR 1035 (Painters Creek Road); CR 1227 (John Howard Road); CR 1169 (Jim Arnett Branch); and CR 1368 (Holderby Branch Road).

Breathitt County road resurfacing
Breathitt County Fiscal Court was awarded $356,021 of transportation funding for badly needed resurfacing on two county routes – Barwick Road and Watts Road. The two projects combined add up to 3.5 miles of new surfacing to make for easier and more efficient travel in areas where there have been many complaints. The funding is administered by the Department of Rural and Municipal Aid in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

Breathitt County school safety project
Breathitt County also received $140,000 to make safety improvements at the intersection of Hwys 15 and 476, which is near two schools – Marie Roberts-Caney Elementary School and Riverside Christian School. KYTC engineers plan to explore a number of possible improvements, which could include improved signage, pavement striping, rebuilt or updated school beacons and guardrail work.

To learn more about the $23 million investment in school highway safety projects, see the full release.

Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 223-7667 Toll Free: (800) 264-KACo (5226) Fax: (502) 223-1502
Contact Us