Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Awards announced for six counties to build additional statewide network of electric vehicle charging stations

From the Governor's Office
Private developers will design, build, operate and maintain new ‘fast chargers’ for public use.

A second round of awards for developers to design, build, operate and maintain a statewide network of EV charging stations has been announced.

In the second round of funding, five developers are approved to build eight public charging stations along three interstate highways and parkways that have been designated as Alternative Fuel Corridor groups. The five developers collectively qualified for more than $4.5 million in formula construction funding under the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program.

This round of funding includes building chargers in Carter, Clark, Jefferson, Laurel, Madison and Marshall counties.

Combined with the first round of awards, Kentucky has now approved 24 charging stations from seven developers along 16 corridor groups. Each station must have at least four charging ports of 150 kW each and be accessible around the clock.

“We are already the EV battery production capital of the United States,” said Gov. Andy Beshear. “To make sure Kentucky keeps leading the way in the EV boom, we’re building out our EV infrastructure so our families can charge up as they travel our great state.”

The EV charging program is a joint initiative of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC), Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet, Public Service Commission and the Federal Highway Administration.

An estimated 37 stations will be needed to build Kentucky’s portion of the NEVI program. The initial buildout is required by federal law to be along Kentucky interstates and parkways that FHWA has approved for designation as Alternative Fuel Corridors.

As a group, the seven developers have been awarded subsidies totaling $15.4 million. The developers are required to bear at least 20% of project costs. Those approved for awards will be working closely with KYTC to enter into agreements to permit them to begin preconstruction work (design, utility coordination, environmental review and ordering equipment). Once initial work is completed, construction will start and take 12-18 months to complete.

Under Kentucky’s deployment plan, the direct current fast-charging (DCFC) stations must be open to the public 24 hours a day, seven days a week and able to power most EV makes and models available in the domestic market. They also must be no more than 1 mile from a designated corridor and no more than 50 miles apart or more than 25 miles from the end of a corridor. KYTC intends to issue a second Request for Proposals before the end of the year to fill in the gaps with as many as 14 more charging stations.

Developers accepting the subsidy will be required by contract to operate and maintain the stations they build for five years after construction is completed. This will promote the long-term performance of the EV network according to NEVI requirements established by FHWA. Federal formula funds from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law of approximately $70 million will support this initiative, with a match by private-entity funds.

Visit for more information about the program.

More County News