Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


Amy Milliken sworn in as KACo president

By Susan Riddell, Editor
Amy Milliken takes over as president of KACo for Boyle County Magistrate Phil Sammons, who becomes immediate past president.

Amy Milliken has been involved with the Kentucky Association of Counties for many years since her service began in 2004 as Warren County Attorney. Now, she's the president of KACo.

"As a long-time KACo member and as an executive committee member the past three years, I have learned so much from each of you," she told members at the annual conference Thursday. "I have watched you in times of great success and during those difficult days that summoned your perseverance and strength. To say that I am in awe of you would be an understatement. The work you do is so vital to counties, and I am so proud to go on this journey with you."

That journey now has Milliken leading KACo into 2023 as its 47th president. She was officially sworn in at the 48th Annual Conference in Lexington. Warren County Judge/Executive Mike Buchanon had the honor of swearing her in.

Milliken is the second county attorney to serve as KACo president. The first was Christian County Attorney Michael Foster in 2010. The majority of past KACo presidents were judge/executives or magistrates.

"What an honor to be the second county attorney to earn the title of KACo president, to be the fourth female, the seventh wild card as I like to call us," Milliken said. "I am so incredibly honored to join these dedicated individuals who make up a small yet dynamically essential group of leaders.

"Our judge/executives and magistrates and commissioners have taken on such an important role at KACo for almost half a century," Milliken added. "But they also have valued the expertise and the contributions of KACo’s other affiliate offices, and that gives us a very crucial seat at the table."

Milliken is the second KACo president from Warren County. Former Sheriff Jerry "Peanuts" Gaines led the organization in 2014.

More County News