Kentucky Association of Counties

KACo Logo

The Kentucky Association of Counties


County Champion


12 counties randomly chosen for post-primary election inquiries

From the Governor's Office
State law prohibits counties from being the subject of two consecutive inquiries.

The Office of the Attorney General announced the 12 randomly selected counties that will undergo a 2023 post-primary election inquiry.

The 12 counties are: Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Harrison, Hopkins, Madison, Nelson, Owsley and Trigg counties.

Kentucky law requires the Office of the Attorney General to administer post-election inquiries in no fewer than 12 counties. These 12 counties were randomly selected in a public forum within 20 days of the primary election.

The public drawing was livestreamed and can be viewed on the Attorney General’s YouTube Channel.

After completing independent investigations in each of the 12 counties, the Attorney General’s Office will present its findings to grand juries and chief circuit judges in each selected county. 

State law prohibits counties from being the subject of two consecutive inquiries.

Counties that were ineligible for the drawing include: Anderson, Breathitt, Christian, Daviess, Jefferson, LaRue, Laurel, Oldham, Owen, Rowan, Shelby and Webster counties.

The post-election inquiries previously conducted in these counties revealed no criminal conduct.

The Office of the Attorney General monitors potential election violations throughout the year via the Election Fraud Hotline. Hotline complaints related to the May 2023 primary election can be viewed by visiting If you suspect election fraud, report the incident to the hotline by calling 1-800-328-VOTE.

Kentucky Association of Counties
400 Englewood Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601